1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Vaillant Turbomax plus F22 fault 10 mins after HW demand

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by PaulTheOnlyOne, 7 Sep 2019.

  1. PaulTheOnlyOne

    PaulTheOnlyOne

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have an 828E with the above fault. Nothing wrong with the pump or the system pressure.

    Start to have a shower and it becomes a cold one after 10mins. F22 error. Repeatable problem.
     
  2. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    9,434
    Thanks Received:
    2,219
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could be a pressure sensor fault or dirty system water.
     
  3. PaulTheOnlyOne

    PaulTheOnlyOne

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Picasso. This model does not have a pressure sensor. An economy too far in my opinion.

    Over a year ago I fitted a magnetic filter and I cleaned it out at 3 months and then again a couple of weeks ago and the water is clean. At the same time over a year ago I cleaned out the diverter valve (there was not much sludge in it), replaced the electric actuator on the diverter valve as this has microswitches in it, and replaced both temperature sensors either side of the main heat exchanger. For a while the F22 problem went away but returned about 6 weeks ago.

    I am wondering if the main heat exchanger is partly blocked or the secondary hot water one? Don't know if this would give the F22 fault. The pump runs on the faster setting and switching to the slower one gives many more F22 errors. Maybe this is a clue and points to a blockage in the hot water primary circuit?
     
  4. PaulTheOnlyOne

    PaulTheOnlyOne

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PS I changed the pump as well a year ago for a recon one. Swapped the two pumps a couple of times. No difference between them.
     
  5. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    9,434
    Thanks Received:
    2,219
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes sorry my bad, the pcb moinitors the difference between the ntcs so could be ntc fault .
     
  6. PaulTheOnlyOne

    PaulTheOnlyOne

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes. I will change them again but I am puzzled. I will try and match them at 80 deg C as I have several to get a matched pair.
     
  7. ollski

    ollski

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    5,850
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Plated heat exchanger i expect, test the temperatures on the inlet and outlet and see what youve got
     
  8. PaulTheOnlyOne

    PaulTheOnlyOne

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Inlet and outlet of the primary or secondary?
     
  9. Gasguru

    Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    10,055
    Thanks Received:
    2,386
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Across the plate. From cold you'll get a significant temperature drop across the plate but once the metal comes up to temp you're looking for a perhaps a 10 to 20 degree drop. Just use your hands for temperature measurement.
    BTW there is no such thing as a recon pump....you've been ripped off and bought a polished secondhand pump. Ebays "recon" category is now totally abused. Pump manufacturers don't sell any parts to enable a pump to be refurbed. Occasionally the capacitor value drops sufficiently to reduce torque and they can sometimes be replaced but I very much doubt they get changed.
    Check the pump impeller torque, it's very subjective and unless you have tested many pumps it will be difficult for you too fully assess the performance.
     
  10. PaulTheOnlyOne

    PaulTheOnlyOne

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The cold inlet is about 25 deg C and the outlet is at about 40 deg C measured at the heat exchanger. The hot water setting is at 60 deg C.

    I used an infra red thermometer so readings are always a bit iffy but I think these are near enough correct.

    Re pumps you are right. I think I bought from crooks.
     
  11. Gasguru

    Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    10,055
    Thanks Received:
    2,386
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Chuck that crapy infra red thermometer in the bin. I can guarantee it's giving you false readings unless you've bought one where you can adjust the emmisivity to match the copper pipe.
    I very much doubt your cold water is 25 degrees...that would not be safe to drink.

    Feel the temperature across the primary side of the plate ie. the pipes that go to the primary heat exchanger.
     
  12. PaulTheOnlyOne

    PaulTheOnlyOne

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Left side much hotter than the right. Changed the emissivity on my IR thermometer (didn't know I could do that so thanks!)

    Temp 45 deg in and about 35 out
     
  13. Gasguru

    Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    10,055
    Thanks Received:
    2,386
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The primary flow temperature to the plate should be more like 80 degrees...
     
  14. PaulTheOnlyOne

    PaulTheOnlyOne

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the boiler set to 60 deg. I will test again on maximum but this is pointing to the main heat exchanger at the top isn't it?
     
  15. Gasguru

    Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    10,055
    Thanks Received:
    2,386
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, none of your temps make any sense. This is probably a simple fault but we're going round in circles because you don't understand what the primary and secondary temps should be.
     
Loading...

Share This Page