1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Veritas Alarm wont set

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by marvinwright, 22 May 2018.

  1. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,183
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to check each pair of blue and whites , one or maybe more will be open !
     
  2. marvinwright

    marvinwright

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I’ll do that, is there any particular cable I should get to replace the broken stuff, I see a lot of solid core but I’m sure I read somewhere not to use that but I could be wrong.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. marvinwright

    marvinwright

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. marvinwright

    marvinwright

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just updating this thread, haven't had a chance to get to my sister-in-laws house for a long time.
    Anyway, I've spent a few hours on it today armed with all the tips I've got here.
    Things are looking better now.
    Testing the global tamper pairs, there is definitely an issue to the door sensor, that cable will need to be replaced, will have to wait a few weeks until I can get the carpet up but shouldn't be a problem since they have a suspended floor, so for the moment the global tamper is bypassed with a link.
    Next was to add a new sensor that the builders ripped off (Z5) and then couldn't find, connected, did a walk test and seems to be fine.
    I reconnected the kitchen sensor Z4 that I suspected was a problem and trying a walk test, it was permanently sounding on that zone.
    I tested all pairs and all looked fine with the cables so I swapped that PIR out for a spare I had, all looks good now when doing the walk test.
    So hopefully once I swap out the cable to the door sensor we should be 100% working.
    I can't believe how many different issue's the system had :)
    Appreciate all the advice and help here !!
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. bongos

    bongos

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't remember if you said some of the cores here were doubled up? I had one (or possibly two) damaged cores (also a history of rats...:sick:) to a Texecom PIR recently but as the spark had run 8 core, I had two spare cores so could run these in place of the damaged two. This solved the tamper fault and got everything up and running again.

    I understand (from what I read at the time) that magnetic contacts only need 4 cores; if you have two spare cores maybe you can use these (after testing for continuity on them)? This would save having to run any new cable...
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page