1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Very basic cable testing question

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by WoodlouseDrew, 15 May 2020.

  1. WoodlouseDrew

    WoodlouseDrew

    Joined:
    15 May 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please forgive my elementary question but I'm quite young and learning new DIY stuff every day.

    Found a plug in electric mower being given away free - think it's just got a faulty power cable.

    Tested cable resistance with multimeter by putting red probe on bottom left plug prong and black probe on brown wire at the appliance end. Fine, reading changes to close to zero indicating live wire is fine?

    My main question pertains to the neutral wire (blue?). I put one test probe on bottom right plug prong - this is neutral? and the other on the blue wire at the appliance end of the cable - multimeter remains at 1 (i.e no change from testing nothing at all).

    Does this simply mean that there is a break in the blue wire somewhere?

    And secondly can I detect the break in the wire with an AM radio or by some other means?

    Cheers all!
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    66,177
    Thanks Received:
    3,587
    Location:
    Coastal
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Right and left depends which way up the plug is.

    Open the plug and put your tester probe on the end of the wire, not the prong of the plug.

    This will bypass any defect such as a damaged plug, blown fuse, poor internal connection.

    Did you know that the world's finest plug contains its own fuse? It will (should) be on the "L" pin of the plug, and the brown wire.

    I doubt you will find a better way to locate damage in a flexible cable, than by making sure it is not connected, then running your hand along the cable sheath and inspecting it visually. If dirty, rub it with a damp sponge and WUL. Obviously it must not be plugged in.

    On a mower, it has probably been mowed over, or possibly hit with a spade or other implement, or gnawed by a dog or rodent. These will all leave marks.
     
  4. WoodlouseDrew

    WoodlouseDrew

    Joined:
    15 May 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks John. Looking directly at the prongs of the plug (not from the back). There is an L on the left next to the left hand prong.

    The plug is sealed up so I can't get to the wires within the plug. The fuse has been tested and is fine.
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    33,602
    Thanks Received:
    3,669
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    I would think - yes, or it is not connected in the plug.
     
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    66,177
    Thanks Received:
    3,587
    Location:
    Coastal
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Cut it off.

    see also revisions to my first post.
     
  7. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,197
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No need to cut it off unless damaged and you suspect failure.

    Put the crock clips on the blue connections and then wiggle the cable along its length to see if it goes to to zero.

    However you don’t want to repair the cable half way down unless you have a
    Tiny grass patch to cut.

    You can get replacement flex for £7 on ebay

    https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https://www.ebay.co.uk/ulk/itm/311977590676

    Cut the green yellow wire off
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,197
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. WoodlouseDrew

    WoodlouseDrew

    Joined:
    15 May 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks guys! ebay links very handy, have got some new cabling on its way!

    Not quite a free lawnmower but pretty close!

    Cheers again all,

    Drew
     
  11. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7,653
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flex sometimes breaks close to the clamp where it enters the appliance, sometimes you can disconnect at the appliance, noting where its connected and simply pull on each core, and often one core pulls right out, you then simply cut off that bit often less than 200 millimetres restrip and reconnect
     
  12. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I love the simplicity of the OP's question and for asking advice.

    Back in our day it was matchsticks in the socket. We didn't have the t'interwebs to ask for advice.
     
  13. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    7,282
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TBH I'd have shortened the current cable to enable the mower to be tested to see if it works before ordering a new cable.
     
    • Like Like x 3
Loading...

Share This Page