1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

View cctv through smart tv

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by houstonwehaveaproblem, 9 Feb 2020.

  1. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all.

    my cctv dvr is in my garage. I would like to view the cctv from say my lounge tv. I cant run a cable from one to the other.

    Is there anyway of utilising the smart tv for this or maybe a wireless connection?

    thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    8,554
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine is in my loft. I’ve never got round to wiring it to my tv but I do use a powerline adaptor and we can watch it on our iPads in the lounge or on our phones anywhere.
     
  4. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks

    The system i have uses an app on my iphone to view it too. Would be good to view it on a tv
     
  5. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,914
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope ....Options ....run hdmi cable ....dvb modulator fed into tv aerial system or cat 5 over hdmi
     
  6. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah bugger.

    whats the dvd modulator thing?
     
  7. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,914
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    775A5A39-71FE-47DA-BD0B-EEADB2743381.png Your tv must be able to receive....eg ...bbc1 HD via aerial For this to work
     
  8. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How about a web browser?
     
  9. Sally2000

    Sally2000

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ethernet to Windows mini-PC running IVMS, connected to TV by HDMI.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah im lost!
     
  12. Gibbies

    Gibbies

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have AppleTv it will work very easy using screen mirror.
     
  13. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks

    only have samsung smart tv
     
  14. Sally2000

    Sally2000

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Samsung smart TV too.
    Assuming your NVR has an ethernet connection and you have an ethernet feed next to the TV.

    There are small basic Windows boxes that have no screen. Get one and install the Hikvision app iVMS, connected to a spare HDMI input on the TV. Or if you have an old Windows laptop, use that instead.

    You can then see all the cameras on the TV, and control all the NVR functions remotely.
     
  15. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have an ethernet socket behind the tv which the smart tv is plugged into
     
  16. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I also have a network switch near my DVR if this helps
     
  17. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah mine is a DVR not NVR
     
Loading...

Share This Page