Want to install new fence - do I need planning permission?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

This might sound dumb, but I'm new to the world of BR and permissions.

I want to install a new fence & gate, 6 feet high, across the back of my driveway.

The rules say a fence doesn't need planning permission if;
it is next to a highway used by vehicles (or the footpath of such a highway) and it would not exceed one metre in height (from ground level);

My fence is taller than one metre. What constitutes "next to"? My driveway is next to the road (obviously) the fence would go along the back of it. As a result, the fence would be 7.8 meters away from the road.

1675863421182.png

Is that ok?

Cheers.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
That would be fine assuming your property posses all of it permitted development rights (note many new houses built say since 1990 don't) and you don't live in an Article 4 Direction area.

2-3 panels at the most. I'd just do it even if there might be restrictions. It's not an expensive job and at worst in the unlikely event there is some reason you shouldn't and someone complains, you'd have to reduce the height. Of course, if you know you have restrictions and also e.g. neighbour from hell, then perhaps not....

2-3 panels at the most. I'd just do it even if there might be restrictions. It's not an expensive job and at worst in the unlikely event there is some reason you shouldn't and someone complains, you'd have to reduce the height. Of course, if you know you have restrictions and also e.g. neighbour from hell, then perhaps not....
Neighbours are fine with it. I'm not aware of any restrictions but I've gone ahead and sent an enquiry to the council / LPA anyway. No idea when I'll get a response though. Their webpage seems to mostly be about explaining how everything is delayed forever.

Sponsored Links