1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Washing machine question

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Bigtree, 10 Jul 2016.

  1. Bigtree

    Bigtree

    Joined:
    10 May 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi good forum people (y)

    My washing machine is quite old but is still working a treat. It is a hotpoint wma76 which has a hot and a cold feed.

    My question is..........

    Can I blank off the hot hose connection at the machine end to render it unused and just use a cold fill pipe alone?

    Many thanks

    Steve
     
  2. denso13

    denso13

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    2,607
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, but then the heater in the machine will have to heat the water.
     
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    57,427
    Thanks Received:
    2,936
    Location:
    21st Century
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    How is your hot water heated? How long is the hot-water pipe to the machine?

    I use hot water fill because my hw is heated by gas, in a cylinder, which costs me about a quarter the price of energy from electricity. This also cuts down the wash time by 15 minutes or so.

    A modern machine uses very little water, so if you have a combi and/or a long pipe, the wastage may outweigh the cost saving.

    Your machine might also need a Y-piece to provide water to both inlets, depending how it is designed.
     
  4. Bigtree

    Bigtree

    Joined:
    10 May 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for your replies.

    I have a combi boiler about 10ft away from the washing machine but only have an outlet on my cold water pipe for a washing machine and not on my hot.

    That's why I was wondering if it is possible to run on cold fill only.

    Think I will fit a 'y' connector and give that a go.
     
  5. Nozzle

    Nozzle

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    1,759
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Plus by the time the machine has filled itself with cold water from the dead-leg in the hot pipework, it'll have to do a whole bunch of heating anyway - that is unless you either draw the cold water first, or the machine dumps the first few cold litres.

    Nozzle
     
  6. AGAS

    AGAS

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    9,402
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    down south
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    also if the hot supply has no feed some washing cycles won't work because some only use the hot water feed
     
  7. Hugh Jaleak

    Hugh Jaleak

    Joined:
    3 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    5,654
    Thanks Received:
    1,155
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got a WF000, Hotpoint are out to it on a regular basis at the moment as they've sold me a service plan, and so far, they've replaced half the machine.... The guys have told me, on anything below a 60° wash, it will only take in cold water anyway, as it cannot judge the temperature of the incoming hot water.
     
  8. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    4,834
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1
    You need to feed both inlets otherwise the machine might not start, they usually sense there's no water flow at the hot inlet valve and won't run. Put a Y piece on the WM tap you use just now and attached the hot hose to that to feed both inlets with cold
     
  9. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    63,561
    Thanks Received:
    4,510
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you need to supply cold water to both inlets.

    They don't sense any flow but just the resulting water level inside.

    Tony
     
  10. Bigtree

    Bigtree

    Joined:
    10 May 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks everyone, appreciate your help. I've got a brass 'y' connector on its way as I couldn't get a plastic one to form a tight enough seal?
     
  11. Hugh Jaleak

    Hugh Jaleak

    Joined:
    3 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    5,654
    Thanks Received:
    1,155
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Plastic ones are crap, brass far superior and less likely to spring a leak 10 minutes after you've left the house for the day....
     
Loading...

Share This Page