what am i legally able to do??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

Im looking for some advice from the electriaicans on here.

I have recently set up my own property maintenance company. I am a fully qualified gas engineer. I set myself up as I can do a variety of other jobs to a good standard.

As a gas engineer, I regulary need to connect the boiler to a fused spur. I have always been told that i can only cannot to a fused spur if there i one already there. I cannot add a fused spur to the curcuit myself, is this true??

also can you tell me if I can do any of these other jobs in peoples house as I regulary get asked to

wire in a wireless room thermostat
wire in a wired room thermostat
replace light fittings
replace sockets facias

just want to make sure i stay within the law.

also, I was thinking of doing the part p course so I can do any domestic electrical work. Ive read that its not the best to have but I wouldnt mind going on a course that will one day lead to me being able to do electrics in commercial buildings. I have worked alongside many electricians over the years and am very confident when it comes to electrical work with a domestic property. The law still stays though that im not qualified and therfore not allowed to complete cetain electrical work

Sponsored Links
Hi guys,

Im looking for some advice from the electriaicans on here.

I have recently set up my own property maintenance company. I am a fully qualified gas engineer. I set myself up as I can do a variety of other jobs to a good standard.

As a gas engineer, I regulary need to connect the boiler to a fused spur. I have always been told that i can only cannot to a fused spur if there i one already there. I cannot add a fused spur to the curcuit myself, is this true??