What brand of angle grinder discs are highest quality/ best regarded?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just bought a 125mm angle grinder for a few jobs around the house. I'm in the process of choosing a selection of discs for a range of tasks which I won't go into, as the question I have is fairly broad... which is:

What brand(s) are well regarded for being high quality for angle grinder discs & attachments?

My personal approach when buying any tool attachments is to buy branded, and attempt to seek out higher quality accessories that make faster work of the job at hand/ last longer etc. Of course branded isn't necessarily always better, but you get the point!

However being new to the world of angle grinders, I'm feeling a bit lost. There are a whole bunch of brands I hadn't heard of before (Norton, Faithful, many many more) as well as the more known tool brands (DeWalt, Stanley, Bosch etc). Being a newbie I can't find much that differentiates them all. Or maybe there isn't and it doesn't matter?!

Would appreciate your thoughts and if there's anything in particular I should be looking out for. Thanks!

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Norton or Bosch for me, but realistically what’s in stock.
Slitting discs (1mm) are great for metals; get some for stone as well as steel. Proper grinding discs for steel are quite heavy, so don’t cut with them.....thinner discs are available for that.
All discs have an expiry date due to the binding resin deteriorating but most people ignore that!
Keep them dry, and circular flap wheels are amazing for shifting rust and welding scale.
John :)

Don't forget to ensure that you buy a full face mask suitable for grinder use.

You can google grinder in face/shattered grinder disc for why this s an absolute must.

For slitting discs, they often have them in lidl/aldi, pack of 10 for £4, and I've found them totally fine

Sponsored Links