What to do with crazy telephone wiring?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

This is my first time posting on this site, so be gentle.

I am setting up an office in my new house and want to sort out the telephone wiring.

Here's the current setup:-

The BT line comes into a connection box in the hall.

From here a line runs to a master socket in the living room.

Another line runs from the hall connection box back outside up to the second floor where it enters the spare room and goes into another connection box. The line then flows from here under the floor boards to the other side of the room to the first slave socket. From there it goes up to the attic, down to a socket in the master bedroom, back up to the attic, then down into the office to another socket, and then finally down through the floor into the dining room! (phew out of breath)

My primary concern is that all the additional sockets don't seem to be going through the master socket as recommended by the web sites I've been looking at. Such as this one:

http://www.diydata.com/projects/telephone_socket/telephone_sockets.htm

So am I right to be concerned by this? What is the worst thing that could happen if I continued with this setup?

Sponsored Links
to be honest the worst that can happen is that if there is a fault bt can blame it and possiblly charge for disconnecting it before they start looking into the fault.

I thought the worst that could happen was that the local time-flux could get reversed, and a singularity would materialise inside the master socket, leading to local gravitational anomalies and a strange buzzing noise.

Good job I didn't post that!

Shame scotty isn't still with us though. That's the sort of thing he would have liked to have said. :LOL:

Sponsored Links
if its working then leacve it alone...if its aint it could have something to do with the amount of sockets you got were from what little I know the forth socket needs a capacitor to "pull" the ring circuit though!!!