1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

What to do with earth wire for LED transformer - what kind of cable ?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by MenBehavingBadly, 21 Jan 2020.

  1. MenBehavingBadly

    MenBehavingBadly

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All

    Our lighting circuit is earthed ... I'm replacing 12 halogens with LED's using one of these

    upload_2020-1-21_16-9-21.png

    Just wondering what kind of cable I should use to connect this to the lighting circuit ? I can only find 3 core lighting cable -

    can you get just 2 core ?
    or should I use 3 core but tape back/cut off the earth wire ?

    The halogen transformers don't use the earth either but their transformers had their own wires attached

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,080
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A short piece of 2 core 0.75mm² flex.
    The same as used for ceiling pendants.
     
  4. MenBehavingBadly

    MenBehavingBadly

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks
     
  5. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,457
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure a 1 amp power supply will run that many lamps
     
  6. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,843
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A 12V x 1A power supply supply will provide a maximum of 12W, which is:

    12 x 1W lamps
    or
    6 x 2W lamps
    or
    3 x 4W lamps
    or
    2 x 6W lamps

    The earth wire should be safely isolated / insulated. I wouldn't cut it off, you never know, you might want to use it at some time in the future, and there's a risk the cut off wire might inadvertently touch one of the other terminals there isn't much room in those power supplies. Normally I terminate the 3 core cable in a junction box and then just run 2 core with N & L to the power supply.
     
  7. MenBehavingBadly

    MenBehavingBadly

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks :) yeah i'm using 1 driver per LED (sorry there was a typo in my original post 12 should have been 12V)
     
  8. Guitar_man

    Guitar_man

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would use mains leds. Forget the transformers, loads of hassle. Mains much easier just wire them up in a loop. Job done. More reliable.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page