Where do purlins sit?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’m putting up a small summerhouse, cavity walled natural stone outside with thermalite inside. Wooden framed frontage. Thought I might sit the small pitched slate roof (3m x 3m) over particle board over a couple of purlins, rather than use rafters; ie the side walls bear the load, rather than the front which is wooden and glazed.

I’d rather not have the purlin ends exposed to the elements (sometimes you see them sticking out). Is it ok to set the purlins flush into the thermalite blocks? They are ‘standard’ size/shape.

Any helpful advice appreciated as I’ve never built a roof before!

Sponsored Links
Wont you need rafters anyway as the tile battens will need something to fix to?

If you want a vaulted ceiling and the load to be taken on the gables ends, I wouldve thought a structural ridge would be the solution

Thanks yes, that’s sort of the idea, but I wondered about just pinning battens to the particleboard - they did this next door to us on a single storey pitched roof about 6m long, with membrane on top of the board under the battens.

Hoping for the load to rest on gable ends, ie on purlins, but can you help a complete novice - what’s a structural ridge?

Thanks yes, that’s sort of the idea, but I wondered about just pinning battens to the particleboard - they did this next door to us on a single storey pitched roof about 6m long, with membrane on top of the board under the battens.

Hoping for the load to rest on gable ends, ie on purlins, but can you help a complete novice - what’s a structural ridge?

A structural ridge is simply ridge that can support the weight of the roof.

Conventionally a thinnish ridge is fitted, the load on the roof is transferred from the rafters to the wall plate -which only works where there are ceiling joists acting as collars to prevent the walls from spreading.