Where would a wireless thermostat receiver be..

Joined
2 Oct 2017
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
I’m hoping someone can help as our radiators aren’t working and BG can’t come until Monday.
I think the issue is with a rf205-ts wireless thermostat. If I sequence through the settings it shows 00 when displaying the address which I think means it can’t talk to the receiver which I’m expecting is a t55.

the manual says the t55 is the “boiler module”, but when I open our ideal logic s30 boiler I can’t see the device and the wiring diagram for the boiler on page makes me think it’s not wired directly to the boiler but to another device.

Any idea where I might find it if it’s not a stupid question ?

Many thanks,
Dave
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
22 Jul 2009
Messages
1,117
Reaction score
298
Location
Sussex
Country
United Kingdom
You have a system boiler so the rf receiver will most likely be in the airing cupboard wired into the same junction box as the motorised valve(s).
 
Joined
2 Oct 2017
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
You have a system boiler so the rf receiver will most likely be in the airing cupboard wired into the same junction box as the motorised valve(s).
Thanks, I can see a motorised valve that goes from coil 1 on the cylinder the cable of which disappears into a small plastic junction box about the same size as a single light switch (but deeper maybe 2”) which seems to have 2 three (4?) core mains cables going into to it. Might it be in there ?
 
Joined
2 Oct 2017
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Nope it’s not in that little junction box.

any other suggestions ?
 
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,028
Reaction score
1,741
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
which I’m expecting is a t55.

The T55 receiver would be for combi boilers where the receiver is usually fitted into the boiler itself.

Capture1.JPG


System boilers have external control devices, so as has already been mentioned so you are looking for an external device with 3 small lights: Link / Load / Power

Capture.JPG


It does sound like you may have lost RF connection though. Have you replaced the thermostat batteries lately?
 
Joined
2 Oct 2017
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
Thanks for posting the pics of the two different types of receivers.
Yes I replaced the batteries some weeks ago as there was a similar problem and it seemed to cure it. Last night I replaced them again with new Duracells when trying to sort the issue again.
I still can't find the receiver, here's what the cylinder cupboard looks like:
 

CBW

Joined
26 Sep 2019
Messages
11,665
Reaction score
3,259
Location
North
Country
United Kingdom
Can you post a photo of the boiler and it’s surroundings?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
26 Jun 2004
Messages
64,092
Reaction score
4,620
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
A picture near the boiler might yield a clue!

As an aside when replacing batteries in a wireless thermostat you should use alkaline batteries and ideally Duracel as the transmitter uses a bit of current when sending the signal and cheap carbon batteries sometimes cannot manage the current.
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
10,742
Reaction score
1,451
Country
United Kingdom
As an aside when replacing batteries in a wireless thermostat you should use alkaline batteries and ideally Duracel as the transmitter uses a bit of current when sending the signal and cheap carbon batteries sometimes cannot manage the current.

Duracell are nowhere near as good as they used to be.
 
Joined
2 Oct 2017
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, Yes I used Duracel's thinking it might be cheap batteries causing the problem but it didn't appear to help.

Here's the photos around the boiler.
IMG_4698.jpg
IMG_4699.jpg
 
Joined
26 Jun 2004
Messages
64,092
Reaction score
4,620
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
From under the boiler there is a cable going up to the left.

Where does that go to?
 

CBW

Joined
26 Sep 2019
Messages
11,665
Reaction score
3,259
Location
North
Country
United Kingdom
Only other logical place would be the kitchen
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
10,742
Reaction score
1,451
Country
United Kingdom
Only other logical place would be the kitchen

None of it is looking very logical - might this wireless stat perhaps have nothing at all to do with the system? Might there be no stat at all, or even a wired stat on the wall somewhere?
 
Sponsored Links
Top