Which joist hanger type and exactly where does it go?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I'm going to be doing a loft conversion soon. I'm in very early stages, chatted with a Structural Engineer briefly. He's had a quick look at my plans and made a suggestion about the structure and costs. I'm now beginning to finalise my drawings which I'm going to send to him again.

The joist hangers and new joists would effectively replace the existing ceiling joist area in first floor. I've done something in the design which I don't know is acceptable. I've used both a joist hanger and also rested the joist on the wall plate - to me that makes sense... but who knows?

Anyway, what I want to know is, where exactly can/should the joist hangers get attached to? The wall plate? Or underneath the wallplate? Or in between the top two courses of brick? Which type of joist hanger would I use? How do you know which one to use?

Not being a structural engineer, I see a very simple approach; Simply wrap a timber joist hanger over the wall plate. Is this the way it would be done? Is this ok to do or would I have to use masonry joist hangers for this?

Attachments

• joist.png
    joist.png
    29.9 KB · Views: 365
Sponsored Links
A masonary hanger needs 600mm (ish) of masonary above it.

Not sure about the hangers on the wall plate. I put a steel across mine with timber bolted into the web and hung the hangers/joists off that.

If you're resting the joists on the wall plate, then you wouldn't use a joist hanger as well, but if the joists were to drop below the wall plate, then you'd use the joist hanner nailed in to the top of the wall plate.

Dont you need to couple the joist ends to tge rafters for lateral restraint?

I think usually the joists sit on the wall plate then the bit that sticks out beyond the rafter is cut on parallel to it. Then they are connected to provide restraint.

Sponsored Links
A masonary hanger needs 600mm (ish) of masonary above it.