Which of these can a non-CORGI plumber do..?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a recently qualified plumber, at level 2. I've tried to read some of the legal mumbo-jumbo about CORGI, but I can't find anything in plain English.

I think I can...
Replace Radiators
Add Radiators
Change central heating Pumps
Replace Hot Water Tanks and Immersion Heaters

I don't think I can...
Replace faulty parts in a boiler

I'm sure there's a lot more to it than that, but can someone clear it up so I know exactly what I can and cannot do?

Thanks very much. :D

Sponsored Links
The pump I'm referring to isn't in the boiler itself and has nothing to do with gas. I've replaced one on a house I own, but wanted to be sure I could do it for paying customers. I've heard some CORGI plumbers quoting hundreds of pounds for replacing pumps, but I can't see why it should be that expensive.

there is no such animal as a "corgi plumber" you are an rgi

I've heard some CORGI plumbers quoting hundreds of pounds for replacing pumps, but I can't see why it should be that expensive.

cos they are blo ody con artists

some boiler parts can be changed

personal opinion(AND THATS ALL IT IS ) if it does not effect the safe working of the appliance then you are ok

Sponsored Links
there is no such animal as a "corgi plumber" you are an rgi

That was until CORGI created them with their 'Plumbing only' logo and ID card. This is where a non-RGI can obtain registration as a plumber with CORGI in order for them (CORGI) to cash in on notifiable plumbing jobs.

Of course the vast majority of the nation think plumbing and gas work are the same.

All this because CORGI is committed to not diluting the gas safety message!

So how much do we all charge to change a CH pump as long as the valves are shutting off and how much if you have to drain ?

I've heard some CORGI plumbers quoting hundreds of pounds for replacing pumps, but I can't see why it should be that expensive.