Why isn't my insulated plasterboard sticking?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, I wonder if anyone has any ideas on this. I'm insulating an internal wall with laminated plasterboard, using dot and dab. It's my first time using this technique. I stuck the first board up last night as a test. It seemed nice and solid, but this morning it's loose and obviously hasn't stuck. To be more accurate, the adhesive has stuck to the wall but not to the back of the board. Does anyone have any ideas why this would happen? It's standard adhesive as supplied with the boards (Gyproc dry wall adhesive). The boards are PB over 500mm Celotex with a final foil vapour barrier (so the adhesive is in contact with this foil barrier). Before starting I was sceptical that the glue would stick to foil , which is why I did the test, and it seems those fears have been borne out. Or is there something else I should be doing perhaps? Maybe paint PVA to the back of the boards first? Any advice gratefully received before I do the other boards.

Sponsored Links
Have a look at Kingspan K17 for dot'n'dab. With foil backing you describe, you might have something more like Kingspan K18, which is for mechanical fixing. Another point, IF the wall is external solid masonry, you shouldn't be using dot'n'dab anyway.

Whoever advised to dot & dab them has given you bum advice, you cannot dot & dab foil back (Duplex) boards. The foil will delaminate as you have discovered as the only thing holding them up is the strength of the bond between the foil & the board, support will be virtually non-existent & you will also destroy the foil vapior barrier. The type of board your using is designed to be mechanically fixed either with screws or nailable plugs.

For D&D installation, Kingspan as suggested or British Gypsum Thermaline plus with an integral vapor barrier.

Many thanks for that reply AJ