Wiring on Honeywell T6360 room stat

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just replaced my old Honeywell T6360 room stat as the old one stopped working. I'm not very experienced in matters of electricity so to make things easy for myself, I simply bought a brand new one (i.e. the same model) so i could just copy over the wiring. All went fine. Just one query - the new Honeywell T6360 has a small LED on it with is illuminated when the unit "calls for heat". I was just wondering if there is an easy way of using my existing wiring to connect up the LED, or if additional wiring is needed?

The wiring info for the room state can be found here > http://content.honeywell.com/uk/homes/Catalogue/Heating Controls/2.17 T6360.pdf

Currently, the earth wire (yellow/green) goes to the earth connection, neutral (blue) goes to connection 3 and the live (brown) wire goes to connection 1.

Am I right in thinking I could just use the neutral wire and connect this to connection 2 as well as 3?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Darren

Sponsored Links
NO although the wire is blue its not a neutral. its actually a LIVE.
tERMINAL 1 is LIVE into stat
And terminal 3 IS LIVE OUT

ok thanks.

so is there an easy way of connecting up the LED using the existing wiring?

There is a wire missing! The 6360B needs a neutral connections to make the anticipator work.

The connections needed are:

1 = Live from timeswitch CH ON
2 = Neutral
3 = Switched live to boiler/motorized valve etc.

The thermostat does not need an earth as it is double insulated; the earth terminal is provided as a "parking terminal", i.e in case an earth link is needed.

Although not good practice, you could use the earth wire as the switched live but you should put red sleeving or insulating tape round both ends to show it is not an earth wire. Don't forget to change both ends of the wires!