Wooden Shelf - Horizontal Bracing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am looking for a solution to a shelving problem.

The walls are crumbly and I would like to be able to put up a shelf without putting in typical wall fixings.

I would like to support the shelf using a horizontal brace.

I thought there must be something already out there (e.g. extendable curtain pole but more robust) but I can't see it. Something akin to horizontal props but with finer control.

My rough thoughts (see picture) are two wooden supports braced with threaded rod, with a back plate at one end and the fine adjustment provided by an adjustable leg at the other end.

My main concern is ensuring the compression force remains i.e. for my solution the extendable leg doesn't unwind and the whole thing falls down.

Ultimately I am looking for the neatest solution that gives fine control over the extension of the bracing. I am a novice so open to all suggestions no matter how obvious.

I have also considered tie-rods, gas struts, springs but none seem to work in my head.

Many thanks

Attachments

• Wood Brace.pdf
    186.5 KB · Views: 364
Sponsored Links
The walls are crumbly

so they will crumble evne more when you put pressure on them

ensuring the compression force remains

if ( when ) the wall crumbles under the pressure then unless the horizontal "brace" can expand and still maintain the pressure then it will fall out. Hence a strong spring in compression pushing against the wall.

Bernard, pressure is force per unit area. By spreading an equal force over a greater are the pressure is reduced. Smart answers from smart people only please.

By spreading an equal force over a greater are the pressure is reduced

Don't forget gravity, vectors, co-efficient of static friction, etc etc, ( co-efficient of dynamic ( or sliding ) friction might come into play later ).

Good look, be smart.....

Sponsored Links