Workshop Build Help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I am in the swings of building myself a workshop, I am keeping it under 30m2 to avoid planning permission. I need some guidance as i am an electrician (industrial) not a builder. I have dug the footings and had a builder come in and get the workshop upto damp. I need to understand where do i put the power feed? I also have read lots of articles on doing the floor and the question i have is do i put the concrete slab upto the inner wall or as in some articles do i put it over the inner wall?

Sponsored Links
Cable may have been better going through the footings in a sleeve or hockey stick and up the inside of the wall to wherever the CU will be.

Floor slab goes up to the wall unless you are constructing a suspended floor with reinforcement for a specific reason.

Power, as @^woody^ , SWA usually under or through the below-ground blockwork then up the inside of the wall.
While you're at this stage, consider a length of ducting for data cables (network, phone, alarm system)- same route.
Also think about where the water from the gutters is going to end up- soakaway, IBC or mains drainage.
Concrete floor- if you've done strip founds there's no need for the slab to cover the wall.
Inner wall- cavity wall? If you're going for that level of insulation you might want to think about insulating under the concrete. Don't have to...

Sponsored Links
Hi, Thanks for that, i did think it would have been easier/ better being in or under footings and i did mention it to the builder! i will put it through the lower coarses.

i do intend to put insulation under the concrete slab.