1&1

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My Old Ma is fed up with 1&1. They host her email address.

It is forever going down where she can send out but cannot receive. Last time she was told she had missed a payment. Fair enough. She registered her credit card on line and paid up.

Now I have just been told that the email has packed up and to try re-registering the card details on-line and that should sort it out.

This is causing my poor 75 yo Ma untold stress.

What are they playing at?

Sponsored Links
Never heard of them.
Why not help her to get a free email addy such as Hotmail?

Never heard of them.

other free email providers are available........terms and conditions apply......please email responsibly......

Something went 'bump' in the night. :mrgreen:

Sponsored Links
Have 2 sites and mail through 1and1 ,never known it be offline for last 5 years.

I agree with Conny, I've been using Hotmail for over 10 years, gives you more flexibility and you can swap internet providers a lot easier.

And as it's free your Mum won't have to worry about paying.

registering a credit card means they can take money as and when they think fit. You can't cancel it yourself even if, for example, you cancel the broadband. The credit card co will say they can't accept your cancellation, it has to be cancelled by the merchant. If the merchant is an idiot or untrustworthy they might not do it.

A direct debit with the bank is under your control, and you can cancel it by writing to the bank.

I have used 1&1 for last six years, and apart from access problems at first i have had no trouble. BUT beware of phishing, there have been attempts to replicate the official website. The same goes with Tripadviser, i have been asked to provide card details and full personal details in order to log in to a site i have used for a number of years. Needless to say i immediately logged out.

Never heard of 1&1.