1930s house fuse box

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

We are about to put an offer on our first house. As the house is 1930s, I had a look at the fuse box to see if the house was rewired in the past. I'm not an expert, but it looks quite old to me. I read some posts on that forum, and someone mentioned that if there is no earth that means is old and it needs rewiring. Looking at the fuse box I think it has an earth wire (yellow green according to wikipedia). I have attached pictures of fuse box and light switch in bedroom and outlet in recently extended kitchen.

Many thanks

[/url]

Sponsored Links
Top quality pictures mate.

Anyway, we can tell NOTHING from a picture of a socket or switch. The wiring behind could be shot to **** with a nice modern front on it.

Looking at the mains intake, I'd recommend a periodic inspection. Should cost about £120-150, take half a day. You will probably need the fuseboxes replacing with a modern unit, but also remedial work elsewhere. You have about 4 fuseboxes, of various ages. None are likely to be from 1930, but all should be replaced to offer you better protection. Budget between £500-1000 for the fuse boxes alone.

If any remedial work elsewhere is required, this will be far easier before you move in.

The fuse boxes in the picture are more recent that 1930s, and some of the cable looks PVC, which is good.

However, you should get an inspection done to see exactly what the state of the installation is in.

Can you send a photograph showing below the fuse boxes a bit more clearly?

The picture you sent sent looks like you may have ancient VIR cable below the dark grey board. And possibly the tails are too smaller. Hard to say with the current picture.

Thanks guys. That's a bit of good news. I will take another picture tomorrow.

Sponsored Links
One problem with old wiring is that light circuits might not have an earth. I'd want this checked before being happy with metal light switches.