1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

6mm t&e electric oven and dryer on single supply

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by ash1212002, 21 Nov 2019.

  1. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,080
    Thanks Received:
    1,914
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My induction hob is large and requires its own separate 32A circuit.
    Some induction hobs come ready to be plugged in to a 13A socket.
    So it is not just a case of
    It depends on the specification.
     
  2. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,506
    Thanks Received:
    243
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The 13A limited hobs can limit your cooking somewhat though, so as its a sounds like a kitchen refit, it would be madness IMHO to limit to one of those. I'd personally play it safe, I think I'd seek to get a 10mm feed into the island, then fit a small board in the back of a unit and then appropiate MCBs for the appliances you plan to fit.

    Yes, you might get away with 6mm on a 32A, but you might also end up with it tripping off lots if you are using everything at once, For what it costs in cable you'd be best off over specing than risking having to pull things apart later, Winston is sure to tell you that it is a waste though
     
  3. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Thanks Received:
    429
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you would only get tripping, it would be when all 3 hobs are on full power and the dryer going.

    If you insist on adding a cable, a second 6mm would be the way to go
     
  4. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,694
    Thanks Received:
    3,440
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    What does that mean?

    4mm² is adequate for 32A - method C - not 'getting away' with anything.
    If it's 6mm² method C, then he can have 40A or 45A MCB.

    Design the circuit properly in the normal way.
     
  5. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    5,665
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Often a whole house is fed with 10mm cable!

    On a 32a MCB only 4mm is required as I said. As the OP already has 6mm he may as well use that.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,080
    Thanks Received:
    1,914
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But 32A may not be big enough.....

    I know that you have never undertaken cable calculations. You might like to read this handy guide.

    You will quickly see that the FIRST step is to determine the design current. This is known as Ib
    Unless you know that, you cannot decide on the protective device In
    And, having applied certain other factors determine the size of the cable.

    So........and I'll ask again....... need to know the spec of everything thats going to be attached.
    Anything else is just guesswork and speculation.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,289
    Thanks Received:
    890
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That guide would make a good sticky, if anyone knows how to do it.
     
  9. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,080
    Thanks Received:
    1,914
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well … it’s what any self respecting electrician was taught for their 236 qualification.
    but of course, it’s all been dumbed down now. Just get your 18th, pay your £600 and you can rewire someone’s granny’s house. Good grief.
     
  10. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,289
    Thanks Received:
    890
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I meant if anyone knows how to create a sticky. Probably easier than I imagine.]

    There does seem to be a lot of reliance on 'cable calculator' these days I've noticed at work, though better than nothing I suppose.

    Absolutely no maths in my 18th, unbelievable. That's all it was back in the day.
     
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,922
    Thanks Received:
    2,730
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very easy, I would imagine, for those with the power to do it - but I suspect that means only mods/admin!

    Kind Regards, John
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page