1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Adding a double socket to socket

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by mr rob, 27 Oct 2018.

  1. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello all
    Whats the best way to add a double socket off of this? this is a double socket in the hall, and i want to drill directly through to the other side of the wall for another double socket. I didnt add this to the house, probably built with the house
    IMG_20181026_140823618.jpg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,139
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Firstly, what size fuse or circuit breaker protects this socket?
     
  4. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,839
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you not sure, we can tell you how to find out.
     
  5. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are asking about the consumer unit, this is fed (among all sockets) by a 32A fuse.
     
  6. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    30,967
    Thanks Received:
    3,345
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    In that case it would appear that the socket is already on a 'spur' (branch off the ring circuit).

    The regulations state you may not add another socket without fitting a fuse on the spur before the existing socket.
     
  7. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    really? oh. so how does one tell if it is a spur? like i said this is most probably part of original build of house, and all sockets appear to be off this 32A fuse
     
  8. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,868
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it were in the ring final it would have two sets of connections; one from the previous socket in the ring and one going on to the next one. So it must be a spur, connected (hopefully) to one of the accessories in the ring (which would therefore likely have three sets of wires).
     
  9. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok if that is the case
    to add a double socket, with plugs that will have fuses in them. I need to have some sort of fused unit before it?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,868
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You really need to find the socket feeding the one pictured, so you can decide if it really is a ring. If it is, then probably replace the existing socket with an fcu and use that to feed both existing and new sockets.
     
  12. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hm but buried into the wall, so not sure i could figure it out
     
  13. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,868
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a bit of logic combined with a multimeter...

    All wires in the wall come out at another accessory somewhere. You can usually see in which direction the cables are going away from an accessory.
     
  14. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,597
    Thanks Received:
    444
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Open up some nearby sockets. As Detlef says, you should find one with three cables instead of (the normal) two.

    If you find all the nearby sockets only have one cable also, is there a socket directly above this one in the room upstairs?
     
  15. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7,440
    Thanks Received:
    721
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Though unfortunately there is always a possibility that a J/B was used under the floor and your hunt in the sockets may be in vain.

    Another option is downrate the MCB to 20 amp
     
  16. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    crikey knows how this was put together!
    so the socket i want to extend may now be a spur. The wire looks like it is coming from the left of the socket.
    There are no sockets to the left. About 6m away on the left is the MCU in the garage.
    There is a strange wire behind a metal shield in the wall that would look like it feeds this socket, but doesnt seem to carry live.


    There is a double above it, but this (pic below here)..


    top.jpg
    has only one wire into it too. From below.


    There is a socket in the garage 1m away opposite wall, that is a ring. But doesnt appear to branch to the one I want too - both the wire come out of the ceiling.
    side.jpg



    I dont know!
     
  17. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,868
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One approach; not totally correct, but pragmatically defensible, is replace the existing socket with an fcu and use that to feed both (newly positioned) existing socket and new socket.
    Either the existing socket is a valid spur, in which case this is correct. Or it is a spur from a spur, in which case you haven't made the situation worse than it was.
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page