advice on quotes I have received

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
Have recently got some quotes of 3 local firms for fitting a new Control Unit/ fusebox, earth bonding in bathroom, gas/water and mains supply and complete re-wire of the lighting and switches.
The quotes come in at £890, £1468, and £750. It is usual for such a range of prices, I have no experience in this but they all seemed to quote for the same work so I dont know why there so different!?
I asked the person who quoted £750 if it included VAT and they said they are not registered for VAT so there is no need to pay it - does this sounds right?
The other 2 quotes both say including VAT, so they are clearly charging it.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
Are all the people you've got quotes from Registered with the relevant bodies? I.E. Are they qualified to do this work?

So that makes your two lower quotes about the same. yes if the £750 guy is not VAt registered he cant charge you for it.

Make sure your quotes all include certification and notification to the local authority (Building Regs Part P applies).

DOnt know if any of these prices are reasonable without looking at the job on site.

Hi
I got them all from the competent person website I found a link to on here, they are all part P registered.

I just thought they would all have to pay VAT. I thought if you werent paying VAT then it was a bit dodgy like cash in hand?!

Thanks

Sponsored Links
No, a business has to be vat registered to be able to charge vat.
Normally this goes by reaching a turnover threshold.
If they're not vat rergistered they won't charge it.

A co has to be turning over more than £64,000 to be VAT registered so most small co's (1 man and a small dog) will be inside this.