1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Alarm power - spur on a spur!

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by PASUK, 22 Mar 2018.

  1. PASUK

    PASUK

    Joined:
    13 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello:

    I'm currently having a look at the proposed location of a alarm panel and power.

    There is a single gang plug socket close to the proposed position but it is on a spur.
    We think we have traced it such that the spur comes directly off the ring main.

    I was wondering if it is acceptable to connect from the back of this socket to a unswitched fused spur which supplies the alarm panel? Effectively a spur on from a spur.

    The plug socket is rarely used and could even do away with it if necessary.

    Also while I am on here, would anyone know the appropriate fuse for the Texecom 64-w. I have tested the panel with a 3amp fuse but it blows, 5amps seems to work but seems rather high to me.

    Thank you
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,862
    Thanks Received:
    363
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3 amp is fine for that control panel
    Is it the fuse in the spur that is blown or is it the fuse in the connector block inside the control panel.
    If it's the spur then you have a wiring fault .check the cables are connected correctly or damaged.
     
  4. PASUK

    PASUK

    Joined:
    13 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I connected the panel up on a test bed by means of a normal plug to familiarise myself with the panel before going and doing the install. It was the 3amp fuse in the plug that blew.
    I'll make sure the Fused Spur is connected properly and attempt to use a 3amp again during the proper install.

    I don't suppose you could advise on the first question regarding the sput on a spur scenario?

    Thanks again
     
  5. davelx

    davelx

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A unfused spur with more than one accessory directly connected to it does not comply with the wiring regs.
     
  6. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,341
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where did the OP say unfused !
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. davelx

    davelx

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Read the OP again - he is proposing to connect an new FCU to the back of a socket which is already an unfused spur.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. aptsys

    aptsys

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    1,852
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agreed. Either a fused spur must be located before the socket, or the supply for the alarm FCU must be sourced from the ring final.
     
  10. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,341
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Read again or do away with the socket !
     
  11. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I presume the "spur" in the OP refers to the fact that said socket isn't fed from an FCU currently, hence adding an FCU for the alarm would then make the alarm FCU a "spur from a spur". Easiest way around this would be to add an unswitched FCU BEFORE the existing single socket, then you can add as many additional sockets/FCU after this as you wish as it's all protected by the 13A fuse in the first FCU.

    The panel should definitely not be blowing a 3A fuse, so I'd check your wiring. If the wiring is OK, it could be an issue with the panel. Are you powering the panel battery first, then applying mains?
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page