Attached garage supply - again!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all. Firstly thank you for a great source of really useful info. I've been refurbing my house almost everyday since i bought it 18 months ago and this is my first post - testament to the great quality posts!! Anyway, enough sucking up!!! I've searched the previous posts on garage power supply but most of the results relate to detached garages requiring armoured cable running across the garden etc.

I am nearing the end of building an attached garage on the side of my detached house. It is a complete selfbuild so I get regular visits from the building inspector so he will ultimately be verifying my electrical works as part of the build. I am working 9-5 for the next 3 weeks so wont be able to get him out for advice and the first fix wiring is now holding me up so i'd like to get on with it in the coming evenings.

I will be using the garage for general DIY so will fit about 10 double sockets around (to save long extension lead runs) but I tend to work on my own so peak power consumption is likely to be from only two plugs at a time (inspection lamp + 1x power tool) - ie not several heavy draw items simultaneously switched on.

I have bought a 4 way garage CU with 2x MCB (6amp and 30 amp) and a RCD.

So my question ...

1) Should I run a dedicated power supply from the house CU to this garage CU?

2) Should I extend the downstairs ring main into the garage CU then come off the garage CU from there as a separate ring?

3) Should I not use my 4 way garage CU and just extend the downstairs ring main and treat the garage as a 'normal' room?

4) or am I way off track and do some thing different??

Thanks again. I welcome your suggestions with open arms.

Cheers, John.

Sponsored Links
I dont think you'd be allowed to do (2) at all.

(1) sounds like the most sensible option imo.