1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Attaching an Awning to a 20cm insulated wall

Discussion in 'General DIY' started by seebk, 13 Jul 2020.

1. seebk

seebk

Thanks Received:
    Switzerland
    Dear all,
    First timer here, really impressed with the wealth of knowledge here and hopefully someone can help me too. I have basic DIY knowledge and have been experimenting/learning on my own house since 2016.

We live in an old house that has 20cm exterior polystyrene insulation all around it. We're doing up our terrace this summer and want to attach an awing to the wall but as you can guess, we can't attach anything to the insulation.

I'm thinking of going to a local blacksmith and getting 20.5cm spacers made out of stainless steel (5mm thick) that will act as a bridge between the brick wall and the awning's brackets. I'm thinking to design the spacer as a plus sign wedged between two flat plates. One flat side will be bolted to the wall using M10x110mm anchor bolts and the awning's brackets will be bolted to the other end of the spacer.

Do you think this will work, shall I go for thicker steel? Is there a better way of doing this?

Awning 1: 9m wide and 400kg and will have 6x brackets
    Awning 2: 4m wide and 100 kg and will have 2x brackets

Thank you all for your help!

2. Sponsored Links
  3. Harry Bloomfield

Harry Bloomfield

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Might an alternative way be to drill all the way through the wall, with a long drill (SDS) and use threaded rod through the wall, nuts and washers on the inside?

4. seebk

seebk

Thanks Received:
    Switzerland
    Thanks for that. I thought about it first but the issue is that the other side of the wall is the lounge, which means drilling 4 holes per bracket (6 brackets in total) will result in 24 nuts and washers in the lounge.

5. Harry Bloomfield

Harry Bloomfield

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom