Automatic into neutral at lights?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been driving automatics for 50 years and I was taught to put the stick into neutral if I needed to stop for more than a few seconds (lights, slow queues etc.). so as not to dazzle the driver behind with the brake lights. (One video on YT says that you should use neutral at night but not necessarily during the day.) I did a test drive recently in a hybrid, so of course it's automatic. The salesman said that I just need to keep the footbrake pressed and not to touch the gearstick in the circumstances I mention above. There are lots of videos and articles about this issue, and very varied opinions. So can I ask:

What do the automatic drivers on this forum do?
Is there a different rule for hybrids?

Sponsored Links
Our EV has a mode where if you depress the brake pedal a bit harder, it goes into Autohold. You can then take your foot off the brake and it's like having the parking brake on, but it's still in D.

Then to take off, you just press the go pedal.

Our EV has a mode where if you depress the brake pedal a bit harder, it goes into Autohold. You can then take your foot off the brake and it's like having the parking brake on, but it's still in D.

Then to take off, you just press the go pedal.
My manual does that too but, it keeps the brake lights on until autohold releases.

Sponsored Links
Highway code rule 114 is clear enough.
Not that I always obey that (it's often a judgement call on how soon the traffic will move off again).

114. You MUST NOT
● use any lights in a way which would dazzle or cause discomfort to other road users, including pedestrians, cyclists and horse riders
● use front or rear fog lights unless visibility is seriously reduced. You MUST switch them off when visibility improves to avoid dazzling other road users (see Rule 226).