Bare brick wall - bond coat advice please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

My first post here but just wanted some advice on a project I've started. I'm doing our hall, stairs and landing at the moment (at last after 19 years in the house), taking off the old woodchip has resulted in much of the plaster coming away as well, it was the original crumbly lime plaster! I've basically taken one wall right back to the bare brick (see attached pic and excuse the Villa flag). From what I'm reading I need to apply a couple of coats of PVA then a layer of bond to about 10-15mm thickness - does that sound about right? My main concern is that this wall is very uneven, so how would I go about getting the bond coat flat/level - should I use battens to get it right? If I use battens, when do I take the battens off or do I leave them up. Sorry for such basic questions, complete newbie here!

Many thanks
Kevin

Attachments

• IMG_2858[1].JPG
    IMG_2858[1].JPG
    100.1 KB · Views: 579
Sponsored Links
Its called dubbing out when you bring an uneven backing wall up to a roughly flat surface. Sand and cement is often used to dub out but you can use whatever you have.
You could use mesh over all exposed wood surfaces, and then two coats of PVA for the whole wall and everything else.
Start plastering as soon as the second coat of PVA goes tacky. Use browning or bonding as a float coat and skim with gypsum finish.
Stairwells can be demanding even dangerous for DIY.

Right next to the door frame the previous plasterer has used mesh beads to act as eml so the plaster did not crack if I was doing that job I would float off the door frame if its straight I would use hardwall , if you want you could run a screed up the wall level with the door frame to make it easier for you