Bathroom zones

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Looking for some guidance if you can.

My background is electrical but in transportation.

I am about to embark on an extension project which involves my current kitchen which will eventually be my bathroom.

Now, it currently has both Gas and electric meters and consumer in it which i know need to be moved.

It will not meet the current zone criteria but i was wondering is there any option to still keep both meter and consumer in the same place if it is boxed off so to speak ie create a cupboard within the room around it.

The meter and consumer falls just about on the border between zone 2 and zone 3 up near the ceiling in one corner of the room.

I am thinking that my power supplier will have to move the meter and i am hoping that i should be able to move the consumer under local authority guidlines in section p clause 1:24 to 1:27.

Any views ?

Sponsored Links
Theres absolutley no way you can keep them where they are in a cupboard within the bathroom. however if u could create a cupboard with the door outside the bathrooom then that should be ok.

energy supplier will move meter (at a cost but illegal to do it yourself) then u can do the unit yourself however as this is classified as a major improvement you will need the new installations tested by an approved contractor.

Thanks sparky.......i am happy that i can not move the meter and am already going down the road of getting my local supplier to do it, they quote somewhere between £200 to £500.

A fair price ? or not ?

Seeing as i have to get building regs for an extension which is all part of the project the plan is to use section p clauses 1:24 to 1:27
pay the dosh and get local authority approved contractor to inspect and test which i am allowed to do i believe.

Thanks for the reply about the cupboard, i guessed that would be the answer, but at what stage does a cupboard become a room :D