1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Best option for running ethernet cat 5 or 6 to garden cabin

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Notch7, 16 Mar 2019.

  1. Notch7

    Notch7

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2017
    Messages:
    19,969
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I want to extend broadband down to the garden cabin I'm building.

    Im thinking I need to run normal cat 5 cable from inside lounge to garage.

    Then terminate and run armoured cat 5 cable to garden cabin, which is about 40m away.

    Any advice on what I need and how would be much appreciated.

    I dont know if I need cat 5 or 6 and can these cables be terminated successfully by a diyer......

    Cheers TIA
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,244
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you get armoured ? Or just put it in condute.
     
  4. wgt52

    wgt52

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    739
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well Cat5e will do, Cat6 is better over that distance. Will this be ran alongside a mains cable? If so then definitely Cat6.

    Fitting the plugs is simple. Look on eb*y for a fitting kit, I paid a tenner for mine including a cable test. The fitting kit included a few plugs. Just strip the right length of sheath off the cable.
     
  5. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    3,429
    Thanks Received:
    217
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Armoured is available but I'd suggest some sort of conduit and external grade cat 5 or 6, especially if it's buried where the duct will fill with water.

    If it's buried, leave a few inches between it and the power service.
     
  6. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    3,468
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Be aware the plugs do not work very well where solid core cat 5 or 6 is used, these cable need to be terminated in an IDC outlet, using the same tool as used by telephone installers.
     
  7. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,244
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ve not had this problem.
     
  8. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    3,468
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have got away with it mostly, but I have had them fail tests and fail in service. It is not recommended, nor are they intended for use on solid cores. A couple of years ago, splashed out and bought some proper IDC wall outlets to replace all the plugs fitted on solid cores.
     
  9. Notch7

    Notch7

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2017
    Messages:
    19,969
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks for advice, very helpful (y)
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    3,429
    Thanks Received:
    217
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If I had a £1 for every successful plug I've terminated, I guarantee I'll be well and truly in profit after I give £1K to charity for every unsucessful.

    Yeah the first few (and I do mean very few) were fiddly but after doing half a dozen they hold no fear, and plugs are a damm sight easier than sockets.
     
  12. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    3,429
    Thanks Received:
    217
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the correct plugs are used, and
    If the cable is prepared correctly, and
    If the cable is inserted into the plug correctly, and
    If the correct crimpers are used, and
    If the crimpers are in calibration, and
    If the correct pressure is applied, then
    The plug will be correctly terminated.

    Dont forget these plugs are designed to be installed and left, I think the max number of matings is vanishingly small, in the order of tens not thousands.
    If anything my experience is - repeated insertions will damage the sockets spring contacts or the solid conductors before the plug terminations fails.
    When they do fail a replacement is fitted in a few seconds anyway.
     
  13. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    3,468
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You cannot get away from the fact that the plugs are absolutely not designed or recommended to be used on solid cables. Solid cables are designed for a fixed installation, installed with an IDC outlet on the end, then they stay put. Fitted with plugs the cables are expected to allow for some movement. You would not use a solid cored cable on your vacuum cleaner, why expect to get away with a solid cored CAT 5 to your printer or laptop?

    None of what you mention above makes a jot of difference. The sharp pins of the plug are intended to pierce the insulation and force their way through the middle of the multiple strands of a flexible cable. Using solid cables in the plugs, means the insulation is pierced, the sharp pin glances past the solid core making a much more tenuous connection than the plug is designed to make. Using miss- matched cable and plugs is hardly a professional way to do any job.

    If you were daft enough to install solid with plugs here, you would find yourself either not getting paid, or invited to return and do the job properly.
     
  14. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,244
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know telephone cables are stranded (between phone and wall socket) using wiered cable, but don’t think I have seen a stranded network cable though. What colour wires do they have inside ?

    Do you have a link to some?
     
  15. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,244
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok so it does exist.

    Both in normal colours
    And one with a red and green pair
     
  16. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    3,468
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you have found some, but all the what are commonly called 'patch cables' are stranded cores, intended for crimp plugs.
     
  17. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,689
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There has been plugs designed for solid conductors for many years...
    http://www.l-com.com/content/Article.aspx?Type=N&ID=10592

    I agree that you shouldn't use it as a flying lead for something like a laptop, which gets constantly moved, but if it's going into a router/switch at one end and an outlet at the other end, then it's fine.

    You don't want this join half way. It'd probably work just fine, but it's not the proper way to do it. Your best bet is twinwall duct or PVC conduit through the garden, with a continuous length of "duct grade" Cat5e. As @SUNRAY says, it will be full of water continuously, no matter how well you think you've sealed the ends. The money saved not using armoured will pretty much pay for the ducting/conduit, which will be a massive bonus in the future when you realise you want a second cable or a coax/phone/etc in the cabin.
     
    Last edited: 17 Mar 2019
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page