Blown 30 amp fuse - age?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I'm not an electrician by any means but retired from mechanical engineering. I have inherited a semi-detached bungalow which has mostly old wiring from when it was built - mid 60's I think. About 2 am the 30 amp fuse blew for room sockets. Nothing has been changed recently and since the fridge was connected I just replaced the fuse and all is well. Could it simply be an age issue? Nothing should be happening at that hour.

Would £2000 be around the minimum I would be paying for a rewire? Not sure about the lagality of the current wiring - the most recent work was to install some storage heaters about a decade ago and these have modern fittings.

Thanks for any help.

Steve

Sponsored Links
It could well be that the fuse has got tired and it's time has come.
If the new fuse has not blown, it is likely there is not a fault condition.
Most of your existing cable are of an age that it would be worth considering a rewire. As to it's safety you would be best having a period inspection done on it this will give you a good idea what condition the installation is in, how safe it is and how long it would be considered to continue to be safe.
The cost of a rewire would depend on the size of the house and what you want installing?

Earlier this year, I had a load of trouble with random breaker tripping on our downstairs ring. :eek: :eek: :eek: The first one must have happened during the night when only the fridge and freezer were on so I moved these to a double extension lead plugged into a different circuit. The breaker reset without a hitch and everything was fine. :confused: :confused: :confused: