Building mono-pitch roof

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I was hoping someone could give me a bit of advice as I'm about to start building a mono-pitch roof over my new single storey side extension to my existing house.

The building inspector has asked for a birdsmouth cut on the top wall plate as well as the bottom. I'm more than happy to do this as I'm building it myself I would prefer a more belt and braces approach anyway.

The issue with that, is fixing the wall plate and working out how much lower it will now need to be to allow for the timber above the plate. They will be 6" rafters and I know that I can't cut more than 2" into the timber.

I was going to string a line from where the rafter will finish on the existing wall to the lower wall plate allowing for a minimum of 4" of timber on both.

From there I could work out the location of the upper wall plate.

As I've never done this before I would appreciate it if someone could give me some rough guidance on if there is an easier way to go about this?

Regards
Jack

Sponsored Links
You could do a mock up on a sheet of ply laid on the floor, allows adjustment then you can transfer dimensions when your happy with layout .

You could do a mock up on a sheet of ply laid on the floor, allows adjustment then you can transfer dimensions when your happy with layout .

Thats a good idea, I have loads of ply here and am still waiting for timber (weeks by the looks of it!) So I've got plenty of time to work it out.

Thanks for the reply!

Cheers

I would appreciate it if someone could give me some rough guidance on if there is an easier way to go about this?

Regards
Jack

You cut a pair of rafters first and let them dictate the position of the wall plate. You need to be aware that with monos (lean-to) roofs, that the wall they are abutting isn't always perfect.