Camera OSD through coax?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm just getting into CCTV having done a couple of very basic installs in shops.

Where I've set up the camera so far I've used my iphone to remotely view the camera and access the OSD display using the buttons/joystick on the camera itself.

I understand this can be done directly from suitable DVR's when connected to suitable camera via the RS485, but of course that means extra wires.

I've seen that sone DVR/Camera combos can control PTZ over the coax (what is this system called?), so I was wondering if the OSD menu can be controlled in the same way? If so, can anyone direct me to DVR/camera models?

Sponsored Links
I meant the system that allows PTZ to be controlled over the coax, but thats not the real question. I would like to control the OSD for the camera over coax (which I guess would be similar/same system as PTZ over coax) if its possible.

I meant the system that allows PTZ to be controlled over the coax, but thats not the real question. I would like to control the OSD for the camera over coax (which I guess would be similar/same system as PTZ over coax) if its possible.
And just how much do you pay for camera's for these 'basic' jobs?
Yes, the question is relevant.

Sponsored Links
Sorry about that, I thought you were querying PTZ.

I haven't seen a camera that can perform PTZ over coax, we've always used cabled installs where the unit is essentially psu powered. Is it possible to use just coax ? I really couldn't say, I've never come across it.

And just how much do you pay for camera's for these 'basic' jobs?
Yes, the question is relevant.

No it isn't relevant. I didn't ask how much they cost if they are available, I asked if the function is "available" on any DVR/Camera combo.

Sorry about that, I thought you were querying PTZ.