1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Can I connect a trailing socket to a fused connection unit?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Andromedus, 3 Aug 2014.

  1. Andromedus

    Andromedus

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi everyone. Quick question - I need to connect 6 sockets to an FCU. Is it safe/legal to hardwire a fused 6 gang trailing socket to an FCU? It seems simpler than wiring three separate double wall sockets (or even two triple sockets), and although I know it won't look great, it's going to be concealed behind a false wall anyway. (But still accessible).

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Trailing sockets can be a trip hazard and can also cause stress to cable and terminals.
    You could fix the bank of sockets to the wall.
    I am not a fan of concealed/hidden outlets
     
  4. Andromedus

    Andromedus

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I wouldn't be breaking any regulations?

    It would be securely fixed to the floor, hidden from view, so no danger of anyone tripping over it or yanking it causing damage.

    I take your point about concealing power outlets, but it will be easily accessible via an access panel for inspection/maintenance. No different from concealing the socket for a dishwasher in the next cupboard I wouldn't have thought.

    Thanks.
     
  5. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Providing the trailing socket is connected to the load side of the FCU, then perfectly safe, if you do have an access panel I would suggest labeling it and when sockets not in use, islolate the FCU
     
  6. Andromedus

    Andromedus

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great - thanks for the advice.
     
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,530
    Thanks Received:
    2,697
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For those who feel that they must be strictly compliant with regulations (which currently say, at least until next year, that one must follow manufacturers' instructions) .... the MIs for great majority of trailing multisockets I've seen say explicitly that they should not be hardwired. I imagine that's primarily to ensure that they have at least 13A fuse protection in a plug. Whilst the spirit of that is maintained if one uses an FCU, I don't recall having seen any instructions which made an exception to the 'do not hardwire' instruction in the presence of an FCU.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. Andromedus

    Andromedus

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's a good point - thanks. As I'd prefer to do it all above board, I think I'll just use proper wall sockets instead.

    If I connect, say, two double sockets to the fcu, how is the wiring for that meant to be done? Is it like this:


    So, in socket one, there would be two of each earth, live and neutral wires in each terminal?

    Thanks.
     
  9. DaftPunk

    DaftPunk

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    565
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Using your six gang is fine and means less wiring for you and therefore less to go wrong. Personally I'd go with your original plan.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,530
    Thanks Received:
    2,697
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's very reasonable advice (provided one uses a reputable brand of 6-gang extension lead, and not one of the lethal ebay imports recently discussed here). As I said, my comments were only "for those who feel that they must be strictly compliant with regulations" - who have a right to know what the regulations are.

    Simply changing the FCU to a single socket and 'plugging in' the extension lead/sockets would, of course, maintain strict compliance with MIs, hence regs - but might not be aesthetically acceptable.

    Andromedus: if several of the things you need to plug in are plug-in power supplies (aka 'wallwarts'), rather than just plugs, bear in mind that it can sometimes be difficult to get two of them side-by-side in one of these multiple sockets, simply because of physical space.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  12. Andromedus

    Andromedus

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok - thanks guys. I'll go with the 6 gang then and try to make sure it's a good quality one.

    Thanks for the tip about physical plug space - I'll double check that everything will fit.
     
  13. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,530
    Thanks Received:
    2,697
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're welcome. If you haven't already read it, you might want to click here to read about the horrors of some of the'not good quality' 6-way extensions!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  14. Andromedus

    Andromedus

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. OwainDIYer

    OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,458
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  16. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,530
    Thanks Received:
    2,697
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately, it's impossible to tell from an advert or listing. Going for well-known (Western) branded products is probably the best bet - and certainly steering away from anything which is even remotely 'cheap'.

    Having a fuse in the socket strip itself is not really required - there will be a fuse in the plug (or, probably, FCU in your case).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  17. Andromedus

    Andromedus

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks - I'll look out for Olson.

    I figured that having a fuse in the socket strip would protect the cable running from the socket strip to the fcu. Theoretically, without that fuse, that cable could carrying a current of 6x13 Amps for a split second before the fuse in the fcu blows or the circuit breaker trips, no?
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page