1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

can't test the voltage on DC appliance

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by fozzyfester, 23 Nov 2019.

  1. fozzyfester

    fozzyfester

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    I have a device (know as a mixer desk) that has a mains power lead into a transformer.
    On the transformer it says input: 230V/50Hz/20W and Output: 2x14.8V/2x500mA
    On the end of the plug there are 3 pins and I have tested them all with the multi meters set to 20V DC, and I can not get a read. But the device dose power up and work fine
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,812
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe the output is ac?
     
  4. fozzyfester

    fozzyfester

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    an ac circuit board?
     
  5. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,812
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried to measure as ac?
     
  6. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    22,086
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Quite possibly the power supply to the PCB is AC and this AC is rectified, smoothed and regulated by components on the PCB.
     
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,176
    Thanks Received:
    2,662
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could we possibly have a photo of this 'transformer' (including its label)?

    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. Nozzle

    Nozzle

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    1,909
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could be AC

    Or it could be the supply has shut down as it 'saw' no load. I prefer the former though.

    Nozzle
     
  9. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,176
    Thanks Received:
    2,662
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agreed. That's why I asked for a photo, so we could hopefully determine whether the 'transformer' really is just a transformer (in the original sense of the word!).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    5,219
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Transformers are AC devices. Do not expect a DC output.
     
  12. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,812
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very helpful... not.
     
  13. fozzyfester

    fozzyfester

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    5,219
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rubbish. It is true. I thought you were supposed to be a spark.
     
  15. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,812
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  16. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,812
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It may be true. But it is not helpful.
     
  17. fozzyfester

    fozzyfester

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hear is the transformer
     

    Attached Files:

Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page