1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Changing hardwired oven to socket oven

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Claire1999, 24 Jul 2020.

  1. Claire1999

    Claire1999

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi
    I currently have a hardwired oven but the new oven has come with a plug. The oven is run off it own 30amp mcb from fuse box.
    My plan is to run a spar from the hardwire to a new socket a little further away (think I saw in has to be 30cm from oven in regs?). As the current hardwired outlet is right behide the oven.
    I was also going to change the mcb to a 15amp too.
    Can anyone see any problems or anything I haven't thought of?
    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,091
    Thanks Received:
    4,031
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    You don't need to do both.

    Either change the MCB to 15A, cut off the plug and connect the cable to the outlet, or

    if you connect a socket to the outlet then you don't need to change the MCB.
     
  4. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,610
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think the limit is 3m

    No need to change Mcb.
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,091
    Thanks Received:
    4,031
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    There are no limits - minimum or maximum.
     
  6. Claire1999

    Claire1999

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks everyone wasn't sure if I was being over cautious changing the mcb. Think it might mess with the warranty if I remove the plug.
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,488
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It won't.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    47,299
    Thanks Received:
    3,074
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suspect that the OP might struggle to find one of those :) - (16A would be a lot easier)

    Kind Regards, John
     
  10. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,091
    Thanks Received:
    4,031
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Along with the 30A mentioned, I was presuming it was an old one.
     
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    47,299
    Thanks Received:
    3,074
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suppose it depends upon what one means by "mess up". I'm sure that, if it ever got that far, an even half sensible court would not accept that cutting off a plug invalidated a warranty.

    However, it seems that many manufacturers (and, worse, insurance companies who underwrite some warranties) will try anything to wriggle out of warranty obligations (including the 'cut plug off' scenario), and it can be an awful and tedious hassle to fight with them (and, of course, most people don't even try).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page