Comparison of impact drivers versus cordless drills

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Comparison of impact drivers versus cordless drills
Hi guys i am new to this site, and i have been browsing through some of the reviews and i find the site really interesting.

I used to work on sites all the time until 4 yrs ago, when i decided i needed a break from the 5 o clock wake up , and the daily grind and the lovely english weather, however i have been helping a friend out on a site for the past 5 months and all the carpenters have impact drivers.

Now 20 yrs ago i worked in the racking industry and we always had impact drivers but carpenters used cordless drills. But now it appears things have reversed..

My question is which is the best Impact or Cordless. Alsoif you would be so kind to give a make of drill or driver you use and the cost. Thanks in advance. CBM

Sponsored Links
They are different tools for different jobs - but both are able to do, to some degree, what the other does.
But, drills are for drilling, drivers are, well, you get the picture.

I find the impact driver to be a godsend for the heavy duty fixings and grunt stuff. One of the best bits of kit i've ever spent decent money on.

Preference? I'm a Makita fan, but others will have their own preferences so don't expect a clear cut favourite to emerge.

this is what i've found about the drills from various sites:

when it comes to normal or moderately heavy tasks, corded or cordless versions are almost equally powerful. for the sake of comparison, let's just talk about cordless drills and cordless impact drivers.