1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Creda Storage Heater

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by CrazeUK, 14 Feb 2014.

  1. CrazeUK

    CrazeUK

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey Guys.
    I have 3 Storage heaters in my property.
    2 x Creda 79162
    1 x Creda 79152.

    A few month ago i noticed a burning smell in the kitchen, then realised it was the RCD for the E7. One of the fuses had burnt, and taken the two adjacent fuses out even though the other two connnected Storage Heaters worked fine.
    I Call the local Leccy, he replaced the fuses and checked the wiring.
    The RCD
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    A few days ago one of the storage heaters stopped working, so i opened it up and noticed there was a lump of metal that had melted.

    I have also noticed that the heaters never seem to cool down, even by the time evening comes. I checked the meter reading and these are quite high.
    I called nPower and they said the meter serial number i provided was for a normal meter not an E7 and that they thought i was on a normal meter tariff.
    This leads me to think the Storage heaters are never going off.
    What controls the Timing of the E7, the Meter or a seperate timer?

    This is the meter:
    [​IMG]

    Back to the thermal link....
    I think this is a thermal Link.
    [​IMG]


    Anyways i called around to find a supplier no one seems to stock them locally, however a local electrical factor said to use something called a Micro temp. He said the Thermal links are designed to melt at a certain temp, where as the micro temps are designed to fuse.

    He also said the thermal link i need is 179C but the micro temp is 184C.

    Is it safe for me to use this?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. swampy2

    swampy2

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. CrazeUK

    CrazeUK

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi. Forgot to mention the bottom meter is not mine. It's for the communal area. As far as I know there is no heating in it just lights.

    The top meter is mine. From the wiring I can't see how it goes into the teleswitch. Could this mean my supply to the storage heaters is always live. ?

    Also I was trying to source the parts locally as it's freezing right now so I don't have to wait for postage.
     
  5. planenut

    planenut

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do be sure you use the right serial number, then you can order that "fusible link". They are shaped differently for various models.

    Replacing is a doddle, (power off), then check all the local connections for tightness. If it's on a timer then you'll probably have to wait for it to come on but I'm pretty sure you can test it in the meantime.

    Always bear in mind that the link and or the fuses "go" for a particular reason.
     
  6. swampy2

    swampy2

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never seen that top meter before, its got an extra connection(prob storage live supply) probably a combined storage/normal tariff meter , if you press the blue button do you get different meter readings?.
     
  7. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It looks as though you have a dual rate meter, but the controller to turn your storage heaters on and off is missing, so they'll be on all the time, but you will be billed at off peak rates for it.

    If you press the blue button on the top right of your meter it should scroll through the displays, and give you a peak and off peak reading.

    The missing clock or teleswitch should be in the top right corner of the picture where the brown wire with three brown tie wraps joins onto the grey wire with three brown tie wraps.


    Have a look on your burnt circuit breakers for a serial / batch number.

    It'll be six letters long and printed on the side of the circuit breaker. Something like "IRSRRA"

    Let us know what it says, as many of those circuit breakers were subject to a product recall.
     
  8. swampy2

    swampy2

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Teleswitch wouldn`t be beside consumer units?.
     
  9. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,891
    Thanks Received:
    593
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting post
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. CrazeUK

    CrazeUK

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To confirm the meter at the top is mine. And yup the blue button scrolls through two tariffs and the total.

    Also I think the rcd blew because there's no thermal protection on them and the constant supply through them will have made them over heat. ? Or am I wrong. ?
     
  12. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,933
    Thanks Received:
    1,991
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Those MCBs have failed either due to a loose connection, or they were the defective Electrium ones which were recalled some time ago.

    Nothing to do with being on all the time.
     
  13. CrazeUK

    CrazeUK

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The mcb that failed was the one in the centre. The heat from the combustion damaged the two outer ones.

    They where Sector brand.
     
  14. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. CrazeUK

    CrazeUK

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Ooh I see. But I threw the old fuses away I think.
    It did cost me a bit go get sorted though.

    Thanks for that.

    Any idea if I can use the micro temps recommended by the shop as a replacement for the thermal links. ?
     
  16. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'd be better off using the proper thermal links imo.
     
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page