CU Replacment

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

Very new here so this my first post. Just bought a house and it has an old Wylex rewireable fusebox. I know it should really be updated but can this work be done myself and then signed off by someone else?

Im trying to keep costs down and am more then comfortable working with electrics as I studied for a BTEC National Diploma in Electronic Engineering as well as a C&G Electrical Servicing at collage years ago. If I can do this is their any advise that you can give in the actuall fitting as well as finding someone to sign it off.

Lastly the house has the old red and black wiring, would that need to be replaces with the new blue and brown colours or can the old red and black be connected to a new CU?

Thanks,

Sponsored Links
In theory you can do it yourself, but it is unlikely to save any money.
In England or Wales you must notify Building Control before starting and pay a fee, which varies by location and how much inspection/testing is required.

The old wiring can be used if it is in good condition, which would be found out by testing and inspecting it before installing the new consumer unit.

Thanks for that Flameport, I was hoping to save costs as quotes to do it seem to be around 5-600 yet I can buy the CU and bits for much less. Wireing looks to be in good condidton from the bits I have seen so far. CU is in the garage so all the wiring out the top of the current CU is open.

How would i find out what fees and testing I would need?

Sponsored Links
How would i find out what fees and testing I would need?
As has been said, you need to ask your own Local Authority, since charges vary appreciably. For what it's worth. the fee charged by my local authority was £350 in 2013 (quite probably a bit more now!).

Kind Regards, John