1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Dimplex Optimyst cutting out

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Keith Bowen, 29 Feb 2020.

  1. Keith Bowen

    Keith Bowen

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The current fault on my Optiflame is that everything works fine - lights, ‘smoke’ etc - for about 10 min. The fire then cuts out and closes down.
    I’ve dismantled it and looked for loose connection etc but still no joy.
    Advice welcomed. Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Gigagator

    Gigagator

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    South Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is likely to be the ultrasonic 'atomiser' that creates the vapour from the water tank.
    They are notoriously fickle - there's a huge thread on here just for the OptiMyst fireplaces that discusses it.

    I've personally got mine going again by purchasing a third party unit from ebay such as this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mini-Ult...difier-Fountain-Atomizer-UK-Plug/202806176944

    Doing so will likely void your warranty so I would suggest contact Dimplex if it is still under warranty as they will replace the ultrasonic atomiser.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Keith Bowen

    Keith Bowen

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks Gigagator - all advice welcomed. However, I replaced the ultrasonic mister device as part of trying to find the fault. But the cutting out continues at 10mins every time.
    Leave it for an hour then switch off/on on the toggle switch at the front of the fire - then, using the remote, it’ll fire up for 10mins!
     
  5. Gigagator

    Gigagator

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    South Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In that case I think it's probably something to do with the power supply.

    When my Optimyst developed this fault it was still under warranty.

    An engineer got sent out and the first thing he did was replace the power supply.
    It was only because this didn't fix the issue that I went on and replaced the ultrasonic mist unit which did fix the issue I was having.

    Like I said, fickle things!
     
  6. Tony Whiteley

    Tony Whiteley

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Keith - Your Optimyst problem sounds exactly the same as my own . . . did you find a cure?
    Thanks,
    Tony
     
  7. Tony Whiteley

    Tony Whiteley

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ???
    Was it a fault on the PCB?
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page