1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Disconnecting in built/Hardwired oven

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Kenny A, 22 Feb 2016.

  1. Kenny A

    Kenny A

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have an inbuilt electric oven which is hardwired and installed 1999 brand new in a new build property.

    Ive ordered a new oven which is 13amp, this is due to be delivered Wednesday (don't know the time yet) and they are supposed to be taking the oven away to be recycled. To do this they need it to be disconnected beforehand.

    I have someone lined up to come an install a new 13amp socket behind the oven as there is only the hardwiring connection point there but they cant come until Monday.

    My queries are:
    1. Can i just simply switch off the supply and disconnect the wires then switch on again? There is no danger of anyone going near the wire when its live again if this is possible to do.
    2. Is it ok to leave connection point 'open' until the new one is fitted?
    3. Is there anything else I should do if I am to do this disconnect myself or am I best to cancel the re-cycle and wait for the expert to do the lot and get rid of the unwanted oven myself.

    Thanks

    Kenny
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. stillp

    stillp

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Disconnect the cable at the wall-mounted connection unit, then disconnect it from the oven.
     
  4. Kenny A

    Kenny A

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply, I was only planning on disconnecting the wire to the upper connection point in the pic attached, should i be disconnecting another somewhere else (or have i missed the point)?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. stillp

    stillp

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, I thought you meant you were going to disconnect it from the oven and leave it inside the housing. I'd put the cover back on the connection unit, in case the delivery guys are frightened to go near the exposed terminals if it's open.

    What does the other 'connection point' supply?
     
  6. Kenny A

    Kenny A

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That goes up into the Gas Hob.
     
    Last edited: 22 Feb 2016
  7. kai

    kai

    Safe solution is to remove the flex at both ends, and replace the cover onto the wall outlet connection unit.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,588
    Thanks Received:
    505
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why? Just remove/cut off the plug on the new oven and wire it in to the connection point.
     
  10. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,350
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why?
    If the new oven COMES with a 13 amp plug already on it, why not replace the old cooker outlet for a single socket, and plug the oven in?

    Or, if the oven is 13 amp or less, and DOESN'T come with a plug, change the cooker outlet for a 13 amp unswitched fused spur.

    Are we certain the new oven is 13 amp or less?
     
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    47,299
    Thanks Received:
    3,074
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suppose that we can but believe what we are told ...
    Kind Regards, John
     
  12. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,588
    Thanks Received:
    505
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    General practice is to hard wire ovens.
    A FCU is not required.
     
  13. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    47,299
    Thanks Received:
    3,074
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not, I would suggest, those which come with fitted 13A plugs.

    Kind Regards, John
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page