Does this wiring look OK

Sponsored Links
Nope get a spark in to sort it for you, and get him to check the CU as well and all the circuits, who knows what else is lurking if that's what you have found.

Thanks. That's kind of the problem... The wiring has just been done by a spark and I found this when putting some floorboards back...

Sponsored Links
OK thanks for the answers. Can you give me more info on what is wrong with it? This was not a full rewire but addition of new sockets, moving some sockets, new CU, and adding new earths to lighting circuits.

Is this OK given the above i.e. it's safe if you're just modifying existing circuits but just not how you'd do it if you were doing a full rewire?

Just want to get an idea of how bad it is and whether it is dangerous. Also if I should be concerned about the rest of the work done.

What work was done? I can't tell if its that an outlet circuit or a lighting one but it does look like 2.5mm but I am not experienced enough to tell. Either it looks like he has broken a circuit and added a spur to it. It won't take much movement for those wires to come loose.

You can tell it is fairly recent (within the last 5 years or so) because the mix of old and new colours, has he even put a notice on the consumer unit to state the mixed colours?

OK thanks for the answers. Can you give me more info on what is wrong with it? This was not a full rewire but addition of new sockets, moving some sockets, new CU, and adding new earths to lighting circuits.

Is this OK given the above i.e. it's safe if you're just modifying existing circuits but just not how you'd do it if you were doing a full rewire?

Just want to get an idea of how bad it is and whether it is dangerous. Also if I should be concerned about the rest of the work done.

I am not a spark but I would never do this as a DIYer because

1) The cables can work loose if they are just dangling like that, this is a major fire hazzard.