Don't want to burn my flat down using extension cables

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi - Can I apologize in advance for this very basic (and possibly stupid question).

Im a medical student and have just moved into a tiny flat with my girlfriend. There is no room for a desk in the flat so the landlord said that I could put one on the landing outside the flat (we're on the top floor so no-one else uses it).

This is great but there is a problem with power: To work I need to plug in my laptop, printer, desk lamp and speakers. There is a power socket on the landing below us (for hoovering) but the landlord said he didnt want me to use it as he has to pay for that socket - it is also too complicated for me to pay separately for the usesage.

I have been trying to work out a way of running an extension cable out of the flat to the desk. Initially I thought I could just run an extension cable from one of the inside sockets and tack the wire onto the skirting board or something. The problem is the front door which wont shut well with the cable through it (duh!). In my naivety I thought I could possibly find a 'thin wire' extension cable but have had no luck on the internet.

Has anyone got any advice of how to do this? As you can see DIY is not my strenght but we are also on a very tight budget so can't really afford to pay for anything too complex.

[However, I was hoping to pay an electrician to install a new socket nearer to the front door as I would have to connect two extensions cable together to get to the desk and dont want to cause a fire (can't use a long one as need a few sockets in between). Any idea about how much this would cost in London?]

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I would have thought your landlord would be breaking a few health and safety rules by letting you set up a desk in a shared circulation space.