Double Socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, smelt a horrible smell coming from my double socket, pulled it open and the grey wire was half burnt…. Help!

Attachments

• IMG_0690.jpeg
    IMG_0690.jpeg
    254.7 KB · Views: 106
  • IMG_0689.jpeg
    IMG_0689.jpeg
    280.8 KB · Views: 94
  • IMG_0688.jpeg
    IMG_0688.jpeg
    286.4 KB · Views: 97
Sponsored Links
Loose connection at or inside the socket caused overheating.
The front of the socket also has a massive crack in it.

New socket required, and the burnt/overheated wire will need to be cut away. If there is no slack in the cable, it will need to be extended.

Thank You Mate

Yes the wire was loose and there is enough wire, I’m no electrician but would you think it’s ok for me to cut off the burnt part and put a new socket on or is there a need for a electrician to do further checks….

Thanks again - I was sitting here eagerly waiting for a response …

It all depends how competent you are to do this work.

Once you have cut the burnt part of the wire off, it will need extending, almost certainly with 2.5mm2 cable.

Once you have stripped the end of the old wire, ensure the copper is clean, and not all black.

You will need a 15amp connector block or wago suitable for 2.5mm2 cable.

The ends of the wires that go to the socket should be doubled over, to ensure a good contact.

If you're not confident, get an electrician.

Sponsored Links
It all depends how competent you are to do this work.

Once you have cut the burnt part of the wire off, it will need extending, almost certainly with 2.5mm2 cable.

Once you have stripped the end of the old wire, ensure the copper is clean, and not all black.

You will need a 15amp connector block or wago suitable for 2.5mm2 cable.

The ends of the wires that go to the socket should be doubled over, to ensure a good contact.

If you're not confident, get an electrician.