Earth Supply Question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. I've been reading this forum for months and I'd just like to say thank you to everyone who has provided information that has been of use to me so far. Anyway I thought it was time to actually make a post for a change, so here we go.

Here is a photo of the earthing connection in my house:

img0157ef.jpg

Edit: Full view photo added
img0161ei.jpg

As neutral is connected to earth it must be PME (which the little green sticker saying "Earthing System PME" verifies).

My question: Why is there an additional earth connector going to the supply cable (the uninsulated wire coming out of the bottom right of the terminal block where earth and neutral are connected)? I thought only a TNS system had this, whereas TNCS/PME has only 2 wires - live and combined neutral/earth between the house and the substation. Has it been converted from one system to another at some point?

Obviously I'm no expert so hopefully someone can put an end to my curiosity.

Thanks in advance

Jim

Sponsored Links
Or is the said uninsulated wire going from the terminal block into the ground actually the combined earth/neutral? Though above the main fuse there are 3 wires - one going to that block and the other 2 going to the meter, so surely the neutral wouldnt go into there just to come back out again?

Sponsored Links
EFLImpudence: OK I'll get another shot and post it later on.

ban-all-sheds: Yes that's a gas pipe branching from the main one from the meter (positioned just to the right of this photo) to a gas fire which I will soon be getting removed.

Possibly an old TN-S which has gone open circuit so the DNO have converted it to TN-CS and earthed their cable using it.

TN-C-S system. A system in which neutral and protective functions are combined in a single conductor in part of the system.