Electrical Issues - Appliance blowing fuses

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Pardon my ignorance but I am a bit of a novice when it comes to electrics and need some help!!!!

here it goes...I recently moved into a new house which has a utility room to house my fridge, washing machine and tumble dryer. To my annoyance there is only one single socket. Naturally, I plugged in a 13A extension to power all three appliances and the fuse blew on the extension and has done several times since if all appliances are running at the same time :)

I have done some research and found that you can buy single to triple socket converters (i.e. 1 gang to 3 gang socket) where you can connect wires from single socket to make a triple socket that screws in the back box of the single socket. This sounds great but noticed that they use a 13A fuse. Surely if all appliances are plugged in to this converter (in seperate sockets) the fuse will still blow on the converter? so what is the point? and why do they have a fuse when 2 gang converters do not? isnt this just another extension but wall mounted???????

I need some help fast :)

Sponsored Links
A washing machine and a tumble drier are usually capable of drawing something close to 13 Amps EACH - so it's not really surprising they pop a 13 Amp fuse if used together.

Each appliance should be plugged into it's own socket. There will always be a limit of 13 Amps on any plug-in adapter, since that's the design rating of the socket they plug into.

Multi-way adaptors and extension leads are really only meant to supply the plethora of low power devices that clutter our lives - things like phone and camera chargers, decorative lights, radios etc.

The answer is to install a seperate socket for each appliance.

Even a double socket for the washer and drier is not a good idea, as many double sockets are only rated at 20 Amps or so total load, not 2 X 13 Amps you might expect.