Electrician or general builder? opinions please?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi.
I was wondering if anyone could help me with this?

I am a time served electrician. I got laid off a year after serving my time due to a down turn. I speicalise in domestic & commerical work.

Since i have been laid off, i have really really struggled to get work.
I advertise myself and sometimes i do ok but often i stuggle to get by.

Im only 23, and i have always had a dream of running my own contracting company with staff later down the line of course, however it is very hard to find contraing work even... nevermind a pernament job!

I am a good spark and i do a good job. However tbh things such as impedance/capacitance and technical theory i really struggle with and i study hard to try and understand it but it just doesnt stick in. i only just passed me my qualifactions... just!! and as an electrical contractor you should really know that!!!

I considering learning to become a builder as the work is more far spread and there is more to go at... i.e electrical, plumbing, blaying, tiling, plastering, decorating, joinery ect. Eventually start my own firm in that? the work is further spread than 'just electrics' and there is less technical theory.

I know i need to walk before i run.. but what do you guys reckon is the best option consiering im not particulary academic?
And what is going to be more profitable as a business oportunity?
I live in a nice area where most football players are from and a few celebs so the prices are far higher round here (not that im trying to rip anyone off becasue i never would! but naturally the pirces are far higher!)

Thanks very much for the read :D

Sponsored Links
Download the free "Beginners Guide to Electronics":
http://www.The-Cool-Book-shop.co.uk/begin.htm

It will tell you about capacitance and stuff.