Energy Saving bulbs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Warm greetings,
I am new to this section of the forum.
I decided to look at using energy saving bulbs.
I have 7 outside lights, which are expensive to run.
So I buy bulbs from Tesco.
I noticed on the box strange signs with lines through showing what you cannot do.
No wording.
One seems to be saying you can't use with a timer?
ditto with dimmer? switches?
Another has a bulb and a picture of the sun!?
Another a picture of the moon!? All with lines through.
Another with a bulb and 10,000H. With line through it?
Another thing about enclosed fixtures with a line through?

What can you use them for??
All my outside shades are enclosed.
I thought they were cooler in use than standard bulbs?
I have 100w halogens at the moment.

Why all the restrictions?

Henry. :rolleyes:

Sponsored Links
Fluorescent lamps draw more current on startup. This can damage the delicate contacts on some electronic timers. Normal fluorescent lamps cannot be dimmed. Your bulb has a 10,000 hour life. Your bulb is a little longer than normal ones, so may not fit in enclosed housings. It is also not as tolerant of high temperatures (but does not create as high temperatures as your old lamps)

you are supposed to protect from extremes of cold/ heat mines work fine outside have done for several years

not to ne used with electronic timers mines work fine with a mechanical timer

you can get dimmer freindly l/e bulbs or was it l/e freindly dimmers cant remember ;)

Sponsored Links
Expanding on the timer question, why would an electronic timer differ in any way to a mechanical one? Surely they both activate the circuit by means of a relay? Why would the relay in an electronic timer be less able to switch inductive loads?