'Experienced' Tradesmen

S

Shutpa

In another thread gasbanni said:
I do this for a living. I've told you how to do it, what do I base this on .....experience!
and I replied:
Gasbanni, I have had very, very, great experience of 'experienced' tradesmen
Sadly,much of that was bad. Now I have absolutely no doubt that gasbanni is an experienced and competent person because I have no evidence to the contrary. But let me list some of the experiences that I have had with 'experienced' tradesmen.
There was the plasterer/s who:
cut/or buried all of the wiring for an alarm system which had been pre-wired when our house was being built
And the same plasterer/s who:
in skimming a wall, created an egg shaped mound a metre long and half a metre wide and about 35mm deep in the centre
And the painter who, instead of reporting the 'lump' to either the plasterers or site foreman:
simply painted over it
And the site foreman who, in his inspection for snags:
failed to see the mound in the middle of the wall
and the plumber who:
fitted a single 15mm pipe to feed 2 sinks, 2 showers and a toilet when the architects drawings clearly indicated the use of 25mm, 18mm and 15mm feeds
And the other plumber who:
stood on the plastic decorative corner pieces of our shower cabinet, broke of the lugs so stuck them is place with mastic without saying a word
And the joiner who:
took 8 hours to fit 2 doors because he didn't have another job on that day!
And another joiner who:
working on our extension, cut all of the door facing short and cut 'slices' to fill the gaps
And the dentist who:
after I complained, was reprimanded by the BDA. As a result of that complaint, all fees paid by me over the 4 year period I'd been registered there, were refunded.
And even the my bank's Financial Adviser who was demoted after:
the bank had to pay me £600+ after he forgot to transfer an investment