A very sad story and a plea for help.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My first post folks. I've been doing DIY for over 40 years and I'm by any standards very experienced. I was recently asked by a friend of a friend to refurbish her kitchen. When I'd almost completed the job she forced me to stop and paid me nothing. I have successfully sued her for payment but here's the hitch. Five months after I finished, the flat below was flooded. An emergency plumber claimed that I had been negligent in not fitting-wait for it-not one but four inserts when I made Speedfit connections!!!

I'm certain that the plumber was an honest guy, and that there was malicious damage and I'm currently investigating that.

Yesterday I got a letter from loss adjusters holding ME liable for Insurers outlays.

I was taken on to do the work as a 'friend'. There was no written agreement, I'm not a tradesmen, and she always knew I had no insurance.

Even assuming it was my fault :rolleyes: who is ultimately responsible?

Sponsored Links
Firstly, I am no lawyer but I thought I'd reply to offer some opinions and get the ball rolling while you wait foir some better advice....

Secondly, choose your friends more wisely.

Thirdly, even if you not a "tradesman" you entered a contract for which you ended up being paid, so I would imagine you take on any liability for future damage due to the work you did.

Fourthly, its going to be your word against hers I would think. Are you suggesting that she (or someone on her behalf) turned off the water, took out 4 inserts and put the water back on, to purposely flood the downstairs flat? If you really think she could do that, and that you are sure in your heart (look deep within yourself) that you were not at fault, then you have no option but to be taken to court by her or the insurance company and argue the case there.